The Scottish Aero Club

About the Scottish Aero Club

The Club

The Scottish Aero Club is a vibrant and active club based at Perth Airport.  The result of an amalgamation of The Scottish Flying Club, founded in 1927 in Renfrew, and The Strathtay Aero Club, founded in 1936 and based in Perth, making us the oldest and original flying club in Scotland.  
Perth Airport, Scone, is centrally located between Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Glasgow and has three runways; two tarmac and one grass, forming a triangle.  This means there are few times when the wind direction prevents flying.
We have four distinct membership categories offering the most suitable membership type and budget for all aviation enthusiasts – Pilots, Student, Associate and Junior.
We operate the largest general aviation hangar in Scotland for the benefit of our members and visiting pilots and provide year-round hangarage for more than 90 aircraft of all types and sizes at reasonable hangarage rates. 
Perth is the only Scottish airport to conduct all types of flight training: aeroplane, mircolight and gyrocopter.  Alba Airsports are the training provider for the Scottish Aero Club and offer highly competitive rate packages for NPPL, PPL(G) and private training programmes.  
The three key objectives of The Scottish Aero Club are: to encourage and support sport and recreational aviation; minimise the costs thereof and attract and retain members.  
During the summer months, we arrange and host fly-ins and fly-outs, plus a number of social, charity and community events.  During autumn and winter evenings, we hold a range of aviation-related lectures and events.  For further information, please go to our EVENTS page.  
The Scottish Aero Club is also the base for the Light Aviation Association (LAA) Strathtay Strut.
We also serve as the Scottish office of the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA). 

Non-Flying Visitors to the Scottish Aero Club

The Scottish Aero Club is an organisation set up and operated for its members and is a private flying club.

We are delighted when non-members visit us and wish to tour the hangar and our facilities.  However, when visitors arrive unannounced, this is, unfortunately, not always possible. 

We recommend, therefore, that anyone wishing to visit the Club contact us beforehand to arrange a visit by telephoning on 01738 550055 or by email at

The Committee

The Scottish Aero Club is run by a Committee of club members who volunteer to keep the club operating within safe standards as set down by the Civil Aviation Authority within the rules of General Aviation.
They are all devoted air enthusiasts who work together to ensure safe and enjoyable flying from Perth.  They liaise with ACS Flight Training, Perth Airport’s operators on behalf of the owners Morris Leslie.
The Committee arranges and runs events, training evenings and, talks throughout the year.   

2024 - 2025 Committee Members

Past SAC Chairpersons

The Scottish Aero Club has existed in its present form since in 1956 and has been Chaired by the following in that time:
2017     Ian Corse
2014     Derek Paterson
2011     David McElroy
2008     Keith Boardman
2005     Roger Young
1990     Mike Ashmole
1988     Moir Coupar
1987     Hector Ferrier
1959     Sdn Ldr Alfie Smith
1956     Hunter Byars
Scroll to Top